10 (non)Commandments of Atheism #1 and 2- A Mind as Open as a Gulag

Just when I had begun to think, “Maybe I’m being too hard on the Atheists** out there. Maybe they aren’t insane people who give no thought to what they profess,” CNN gathers the data it takes to remind me that, if anything, I need to be more cynical. Thanks a lot CNN.
You jerks…

It was in fact Ken Ham of Answers in Genesis who shared this, via this blog post:
http://blogs.answersingenesis.org/blogs/ken-ham/2014/12/26/10-atheist-non-commandments/

The list of 10 (non) commandments for Atheists was compiled from 2,800 submissions from 18 different countries. What would be really interesting is to see how many submissions there would have been if they had to pass a breathalyzer or the 8th grade to send them in. But I digress. The point is, we get to see what the human race would come up with to replace God’s revelation of rules for better homes and gardens if given the chance, and the result is a reminder that people are made in the image of God with His word written on their hearts, and that many of them do not stop to think about anything, at all, ever.

Ken Ham  goes through each one and compares it with the Bible’s teaching on similar topics, because he’s a lot more mature than I am. I suggest you take a look at what he has to say. Me? I’m going to make fun of these people and their collectively submitted butts. Prepare once again to witness the tragic failure of orthodox atheism, and I suspect the unfortunate collision of failing public schools mixed with illegal drugs. “Public School! Reading scores get low while the kids get high, or your money back.”

While CNN does not report on this, I suspect it was handed down to a hung-over Jack Black on a mountain of dirty laundry, having been carved into a plaque of dried E-Z cheese by chance random processes over millions of years.

The 10 (non) commandments of Atheism.

#1. Be open-minded and be willing to alter your beliefs with new evidence.

This is great advice, and interestingly is exactly why I became a young earth Creationist. Ironically, it’s advice which conflicts with atheism. When bitter, Bible/Christian-hating atheists like Josh McDowell, Lee Stroble, or CS Lewis actually took this advice, they became Christians. (Listen to one former atheist say just this HERE.)

CURSE YOU EVIDENCE AND REASON!!! CURSE YOOOOUUUU!!!!!!!

Fooey! I thought atheists were atheists because they were people of REASON who followed the evidence wherever it went and rejected Christianity because of the lack of evidence for it. Isn’t that what they claim on their blog posts and bumper stickers? Now it seems that an open minded look at evidence leads to FAITH IN GOD?!?!? What is to become of the New Atheism?

But wait! There’s a way that your atheism can be protected from evidence or arguments: The Inner Witness of Atheism. You will think I am making this up, but I am not. Here’s just one of MANY examples I could give of an atheist declaring just this:

“Sometimes I am tempted to “backslide” from atheism and I recall the inspiration and comfort I used to get from religion. But then, when I really think about it, I have an overwhelming and undeniable sense of disgust and revulsion when I think about being a Christian again…whatever I believe, I can’t believe that. Christian dogmas just seem to be fantasies, no matter how many apologies for them I hear.”
-Dr. Keith Parsons- *1. [Editor’s note- by ‘apologies’ he means evidence and arguments, not Christians saying they are sorry]

That’s right kids. When your faith in atheism is shaken by evidence and reason, hold fast to your yucky feelings against it! Because, I guess that leaves your mind open. Open like a Russian Gulag.

What’s that? You want more, right from the atheist horse’s mouth? Oh, ok. One more. This one is about the open-mindedness of atheists in the fields of science:

“It is not that the methods and institutions of science somehow compel us to accept a material explanation of the phenomenal world, but, on the contrary, that we are forced by our a priori adherence to material causes to create an apparatus of investigation and a set of concepts that produce material explanations, no matter how counter-intuitive, no matter how mystifying to the uninitiated. Moreover, that materialism is absolute, for we cannot allow a Divine Foot in the door.”
-Professor Richard Lewontin-*.2

No doubt I could do this all day, but you get the idea. For now, considering these open-minded admissions of the Atheists, let us consider their second (non) commandment:

#2. Strive to understand what is most likely to be true, not to believe what you wish to be true.

I don’t make this stuff up you know. And when you don’t believe me, it hurts my feelings.

The Atheists on the internet will refer to themselves as “reasonable” and will make comments like #2 here to implicate Christians as being “wishful thinkers.” But sometimes, probably by accident, they admit things like this:

“I want atheism to be true and am made uneasy by the fact that some of the most intelligent and well-informed people I know are religious believers. It isn’t just that I don’t believe in God and, naturally, hope that I’m right in my belief. It’s that I hope there is no God! I don’t want there to be a God…”
-Thomas Nagel-*3

And then these open minded Atheists become college professors and poison whole generations against thinking.
The atheists of course mean to imply with these two (non) commandments that Christians are the close minded wishful thinkers, but even without the gems dredged up by quote mining, you can see their EPIC FAILURE by seeing the discussion between Christians and Atheists on every part of the blogosphere or in various types of print.

The Atheist says, “WHAT EVIDENCE AND REASON do you have for believing the Bible is true and God is real?”

And the Christians come up with the brilliant apologetic works of GK Chesterton, CS Lewis, Peter Kreeft,  (Just to name some from the most recent century) as well as decades of work from organizations like Reasonable Faith, Answers in Genesis, Ravi Zacharias International Ministries, Cold Case Christianity, Cross Examined, Tekton Ministries, and dozens more on TV, Radio, Internet, and print, covering science, history, philosophy, and many other related fields.

Then the Christians say, “WHAT EVIDENCE AND REASON do you have for Atheism?”
And the Atheists say, “Stop trying to force the burden of proof on me! I don’t have to prove anything!”

Which to me sums it all up fairly well.

We’ve only just begun the wacky walk down the Atheist top 10 (non) commandments. Next time we will see them REALLY wishing they were Jewish or Christian. It would be sad if it weren’t already so dern funny. So, join me next time, and thanks for letting me be your rent a friend.

*2. http://creation.com/amazing-admission-lewontin-quote

*3. http://creation.com/thomas-nagel-i-hope-there-is-no-god

**Atheism is the belief that there is no god. According to the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy:

“Atheism is the position that affirms the non-existence of God. It proposes positive disbelief rather than mere suspension of belief.”1

I am not in any way making fun of honest thinkers who feel they have not been shown sufficient evidence- people who would rightly be called “Agnostics” or, as the Mythbusters would say, “Plausable.”

About rentafriend2000
Rocking my 40's with a heart full of love and muffins, science and technology. Jesus loves me and wants me to totally rock! And I am here to help.

2 Responses to 10 (non)Commandments of Atheism #1 and 2- A Mind as Open as a Gulag

  1. Pingback: Top 10 ATHEISTS OF 2013 | CreationSoapbox

  2. Pingback: Top 10 ATHEISTS OF 2013 | Rent-A-Friend 2000's Biblical Thinking and Good Times!

Leave a Reply

A Bit of Orange

Biblical Apologetics made Friendly

Reluctantly Aging

One man’s futile struggle against inevitability

A Bit of Orange

Biblical Apologetics Made Friendly

RaF Ministries News

What's new at Rent-A-Friend Ministries

Bible Science Forum

Creation Evolution Cosmology

Superhero etc.

ALL THINGS SUPERHEROES

Creation Science 4 Kids

creation science worded for all of us

christian ammunition

He that dasheth in pieces is come up before thy face: keep the munition...fortify thy power mightily--NAHUM 2:1

Surprised by Logic

Logic for the ordinary Joe and Jane

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Rent-A-Friend 2000's Biblical Thinking and Good Times!

Part of the Creation Soapbox Apologetics Ministry

